Johnny Flynn: Folking Great!

I hope you all have had a good start to 2012, I have had a few days break from writing. Sorry I still haven’t got round to doing the album reviews; I have decided that there is not much point in doing reviews for some of the albums because I have already written a lot on them in other posts. This post is one that I have had saved as a draft for a while; I could never think of what to write but I have finally conjured words from the air and assembled them in the format of a blog post.

If you had asked me who Johnny Flynn was before his second album was released I wouldn’t have had a clue. It may surprise you that, before last year, I never invested much time in music. I have always loved music, yet I always relied on the rest of my family to find out about the bands. My sister got me into Johnny Flynn; I remember always asking for ‘Barnacled Warship’ to be played in the car on family outings. I never knew that there had been an album before ‘Been Listening’. Then after seeing him live I found out about ‘A Larum’, and I was so happy, and annoyed that I never found out about it before.

‘A Larum’ has now become one of my favourite albums of all time; there is nothing I can say to fault it, both lyrically and musically it is sublime. Johnny Flynn’s songs are thoughtful, deep and poetic; it does not surprise me that he has cited his influences as W.B. Yeats and Shakespeare. There is not a bad song on either of the albums, but ‘Leftovers’ and ‘Amazon Love’ have to be my two favourite songs. Try not to be a fool like me and leave it a year before you realise quite how good Johnny Flynn is. I left it a year too long.

2 thoughts on “Johnny Flynn: Folking Great!

Leave a Reply

