Albums Of The Year 2011

I have finally got round to doing my albums of the year! I have given this a lot of thought, and it is a very hard task. I have listened to so many albums this year, lots of greatly anticipated albums, a few disappointments and some unexpected wonders. Overall, I think this was a very good year of music.

I could not bring myself to put them into a top ten, my taste changes slightly on a day-to-day basis, and what may be my favourite today could drop to third place in a few days. I have just selected some albums that I think I need to mention. I hope you agree with my choices, or you can at least see where I’m coming from.

Slow Club – Paradise

I had to mention this album. If I had to give it a rank there would be a large chance it would be at the top. This was the first Slow Club album I heard, and I was consumed with ecstasy straight away, it is such a great album. I normally judge an album by how many good songs there are on it, and whether the really good songs outweigh the bad songs. I can safely say that the really good songs outweigh the good songs, in other words: every song is amazing. This album is a must have, it has made 2011 a better year.

Chapel Club – Palace

Until a few months ago, I never gave this album much time. Then I saw Chapel Club at Latitude Festival and saw one of the best sets of my life, I’m only 15 but it is still quite an achievement. I have now made up any lost time with this album, yet again there is not a bad song on it. Chapel Club also earn extra brownie points because the lead singer, Lewis Bowman, commented on a post I wrote about them a couple of weeks ago.

Wye Oak – Civilian

Wye Oak were the first band I wrote about on this blog. At that point I had only heard one song, Holy Holy, and I had not really thought about them being a possible candidate for my albums of the year. Then a few days ago the Christian/Western world experienced a yearly phenomena called Christmas and I emerged from this event with a copy of Wye Oak’s current album called Civilian. I have listened to it non-stop so far and I can now say that it is defiantly one of my favourite albums to be released this year.

Alessi’s Ark – Time Travel

I have a soft spot for Alessi. She is so sweet and is a genuinely nice person. Adding to this, the song ‘Time Travel’, the title track of the album, was actually written because of a party that she attended in my nearest town. These are not the only reasons for her appearing my top albums of 2011. Alessi also happens to be a very talented musician and a great song writer, and she has produced an album that is well worth a spot on this post.

Veronica Falls – Veronica Falls

This is another album that I received this Christmas, and another band that I have previously written about. To me, Veronica Falls are more like a choir than a band; all of the singing is perfectly harmonised, with each member of the band playing a part in the overall effect. They create a heavenly sound that is backed by a 60s and 80s influenced instrumental. The end product just happens to be a truly brilliant album.

Big Deal – Lights Out
(This Video Contains Strong Language)

I could use one word to describe this album, and that word would be beautiful, but I am not going to because this album deserves a longer description. It is a masterpiece, yet I haven’t seen it on one album of the year list. I can not put into words what this album can make you feel, but I can say that it is an awesome album that should be listened to by young and old, rich and poor, and all the other people in between. This album is a big deal, if you can pardon the pun.

That is my small selection of albums of the year. If you think I missed out anything then leave me a comment and I will explain my reasoning. I have put some of the other worthy albums that I did write about, either because they were not quite special enough or because I couldn’t think of what to write.


The Joy Formidable – The Big Roar
Feist – Metals
Laura Marling – A Creature I Don’t Know
Summer Camp – Welcome to Condale
Cloud Control – Bliss Release
Bombay Bicycle Club – A Different Kind of Fix
Real Estate – Days

and lots more

I probably won’t write a post tomorrow, so have a good New Year’s Eve and I will see you in 2012.

Leave a Reply

