Looks Like You’ve Lost a Girl

Another rubbish title, sorry about that. If you have any better suggestions then leave a comment and I would be happy to change it. I did say I would post some new album reviews but I’m not really in the mood to write them, to be honest I don’t know what to write. Instead I thought I should do a post about some electro and indie pop music.

If seems like New Young Pony Club have possessed my speakers because at the moment they are one of the only bands I listen to. I have had their album ‘The Optimist’ for a while, but I never thought of listening to it. Then a few weeks ago I was trying to think of bands to play on my radio show and thought I should have a proper listen. I was captivated as soon as I heard ‘Lost a Girl’, the first song. It is a really great song and for a while I didn’t even listen to the rest of the album, just stuck that one song on repeat. When I finally listened to the other songs I realised that they were just as good, if not better.

I don’t normally listen to much electro music; I have a song by We Have Band that I listen to a bit, but apart from that New Young Pony Club are one of the only bands of that style that I really like. The songs have quite a lot of different sounds going on at the same time, a combination of guitars and synths, and there is a nice depth to their songs. The song below is probably my favourite song of theirs at the moment. It captures all of their sounds in one song.

I will try and get all the promised posts to you soon. I only have a few days to write my albums of 2011 so that will be my main priority.

 

Leave a Reply

